Duel Masters Community Forum - Duel, Discuss, Trade, Share


Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Share
avatar
OcaVan
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 82
Feedback Points : 1/1
Join date : 2017-02-02
Location : germany

Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by OcaVan on 08.04.17 1:59

Will Gigavrands effect activate when i use Transmogrify on a creature of my opponnent?

Gigavrand effects says that if my opponnemt drew more than 2 cards in any turn, my opponnent has to discard his hand.
Here is the effect of Gigavrand:
http://duelmasters.wikia.com/wiki/Gigavrand

Transmogrify says that after the target creatures is destroyed the target player 'reveals' cards until he reveals a monster.

So my question is:
Is revealing a card the same as drawing a card?
I'm really uncertain about it because i haven't found anything useful on dm wikia. Normally it's very detailed.

The action of drawing seems very similar to the action of revealing a card. Both let you draw a card.
I would be pleased if you guys could helo me with this question.
avatar
Mr-ex777
Master of Destruction
Master of Destruction

Posts : 131
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-02-03

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by Mr-ex777 on 08.04.17 10:58

No, it is not. Draw and reveal are 2 different things.
avatar
ELTP
Admin
Admin

Posts : 334
Feedback Points : 1/1
Join date : 2016-11-22
Location : Finland, Hanko

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by ELTP on 08.04.17 12:04

Mr-ex777 is correct. Drawing and revealing a card are two different things. When you draw, you add the top-most card of your deck into your hand. When you reveal a card from the top of your deck, it might not even get added to your hand or any other zone.

Even if you reveal and add a card to your hand, it's not counted as drawing a card.


_________________
The world changes, I change - My passion for Duel Masters persists.
Duel Masters Finland - The Finnish Duel Masters Community
avatar
OcaVan
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 82
Feedback Points : 1/1
Join date : 2017-02-02
Location : germany

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by OcaVan on 08.04.17 13:15

Is there any similar situation with other card effects? Maybe from a different forum?
Because there isn't any official or something that has been already discussed about this two cards.
Your answers are good and make sense but i really want to be sure about this.
However Gigavrand should wirk with 2x Necrodragon Zalva.
avatar
Yami_Michael
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 138
Join date : 2017-02-02

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by Yami_Michael on 16.04.17 15:36

No specific rules for it, no.

Just that Draw and Reveal are different actions.

And as it says, Gigavrand only cares about "draw". Reveal is just looking at a card, not putting it into your hand (although the rest of a cards effect may put it into your hand, it has to say "draw" to be a "Draw").

Gigavrand and 2x Zalva is fine.


_________________

Duel Masters Wiki - A site for all of your Duel Masters Information!
avatar
OcaVan
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 82
Feedback Points : 1/1
Join date : 2017-02-02
Location : germany

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by OcaVan on 16.04.17 21:24

Okay, thanks for your help. Now i know that they don't work together.
avatar
Bronze-Arm Sloth
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 75
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-07-02
Location : Germany

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by Bronze-Arm Sloth on 03.07.17 11:49

Try using Cyclone Panic, the only card that can force vrands effect.

- Other options are, 2 Zalva as stated above (too expensive and senseless)
- wait for opponent to use stream or serum (unexpectable when vrand is down)

You can create kinda rub deck, using Cyclone Panic, Gugavrand, Gigazald, Gigappi Ponto, Gigabalza, Volc Charger maybe and blue for draw.

avatar
OcaVan
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 82
Feedback Points : 1/1
Join date : 2017-02-02
Location : germany

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by OcaVan on 04.07.17 12:29

Yeah, thanks for the Info, sonebody else told me also that i could use Gigavrand with Cyclone panic, a very mean combo.
I originally planned to play Gigvrand in combination with Transmogrify in a DeckOut/Mill deck but it isn't working sadly. That's why i suggested Zalva...
avatar
Bronze-Arm Sloth
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 75
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-07-02
Location : Germany

Re: Gigavrand + Transmogrify

Post by Bronze-Arm Sloth on 04.07.17 18:04

OcaVan wrote:Yeah, thanks for the Info, sonebody else told me also that i could use Gigavrand with Cyclone panic, a very mean combo.
I originally planned to play Gigvrand in combination with Transmogrify in a DeckOut/Mill deck but it isn't working sadly. That's why i suggested Zalva...

Can't really suggest Zalva for this, you would need 8 mana and 2 Zalva in one turn, discard will deny this combo, Cyclone is just 3 mana and can happen in every turn, since it's a trigger. The only requirement is just 2 or more hand cards in your opponents hand.
I would also add Gigaclaws to the deck and melnia, this is a mean and easy combo Smile

    Current date/time is 19.09.17 16:26