Duel Masters Community Forum - Duel, Discuss, Trade, Share


Slash and Burn ruling

Share

SunnySunday
Initiate
Initiate

Posts : 14
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-10-04

Slash and Burn ruling

Post by SunnySunday on 04.10.17 16:10

Hello everyone, I would like to know if the effect of the card 'slash and burn' can be used retrospectively. For example I have 7 mana, I cast volcano charger to destroy a target, then with the additional mana from volcano charger I cast slash and burn then end my turn, would the effect of slash and burn apply to the destroyed creature? Thanks in advance.

image: http://duelmasters.wikia.com/wiki/Slash_and_Burn

Text:

"
■ (This spell is put into your mana zone tapped.)

■ Whenever any of your opponent's creatures is destroyed this turn, your opponent chooses a card in his mana zone and puts it into his graveyard. Then he chooses one of his shields and puts it into his graveyard.
"
avatar
Bronze-Arm Sloth
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 92
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-07-02
Location : Germany

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by Bronze-Arm Sloth on 04.10.17 18:47

This does not work, the slash effect was activated after the destruction of the charger.

You have to cast s and b as first action of your turn.


SunnySunday
Initiate
Initiate

Posts : 14
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-10-04

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by SunnySunday on 05.10.17 6:47

Bronze-Arm Sloth wrote:This does not work, the slash effect was activated after the destruction of the charger.

You have to cast s and b as first action of your turn.


Where is your proof though?
avatar
Jynkkymasiina69
Initiate
Initiate

Posts : 13
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-02-03
Age : 22
Location : Finland, Pori

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by Jynkkymasiina69 on 05.10.17 9:08

SunnySunday wrote:
Bronze-Arm Sloth wrote:This does not work, the slash effect was activated after the destruction of the charger.

You have to cast s and b as first action of your turn.


Where is your proof though?

(Is destroyed) means past the time you cast your spell.

SunnySunday
Initiate
Initiate

Posts : 14
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-10-04

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by SunnySunday on 05.10.17 12:04

Jynkkymasiina69 wrote:
SunnySunday wrote:
Bronze-Arm Sloth wrote:This does not work, the slash effect was activated after the destruction of the charger.

You have to cast s and b as first action of your turn.


Where is your proof though?

(Is destroyed) means past the time you cast your spell.

It also mention in the whole turn too. Say if the card wording was "Whenever any of your opponent's creatures ARE destroyed this turn, your opponent chooses a card in his mana zone and puts it into his graveyard. Then he chooses one of his shields and puts it into his graveyard."

Would that mean it could be used retrospectively?
avatar
Jynkkymasiina69
Initiate
Initiate

Posts : 13
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-02-03
Age : 22
Location : Finland, Pori

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by Jynkkymasiina69 on 05.10.17 12:47

No

SunnySunday
Initiate
Initiate

Posts : 14
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-10-04

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by SunnySunday on 05.10.17 12:58

Jynkkymasiina69 wrote:No

Why
avatar
OcaVan
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 88
Feedback Points : 1/1
Join date : 2017-02-02
Location : germany

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by OcaVan on 05.10.17 16:30

That's an interesting question!
However the others are correct.
You can't use Slash and Burns effect retroperspectively.

Let me compare the effect to Mongrel Man:
http://duelmasters.wikia.com/wiki/Mongrel_Man

"Whenever another creature is destroyed, you may draw a card. "
'Whenever' seems to allow you to get the effect of Slash and Burn as well as of Mongrel Man. Imagine casting Volcana Charger and the use the new mana to pay for Mongrel Man. You could use it retroperspectively BUT you have payed for Mongrel Man (or Slash and Burns) effect AFTER you cast/payed for Volcana Charger. You can only making an effectiv valid and working if you tap mana for it and for that point on, you will receive the effect of Slash and Burn.

Maybe this article of the dm wikia can help you a bit:
http://duelmasters.wikia.com/wiki/Cast

"Casting a spell consists of the following procedure.

   1) Reveal the card from its current zone.
   2) If it has a Modal ability, choose it. (Hyperspatial spell, Double Evolution Burst)
   3) If you have additional or Alternative Cost's, apply them.
   4) If there is any Cost Increase or Decrease, apply it.
   5) Pay the total cost of the card by tapping cards in your mana zone for mana,

After the above, resolve the spell." <-- this is the reason why you don't get slash and burns effect retroperspectively.

I hope i could help you.

SunnySunday
Initiate
Initiate

Posts : 14
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-10-04

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by SunnySunday on 06.10.17 3:55

OcaVan wrote:That's an interesting question!
However the others are correct.
You can't use Slash and Burns effect retroperspectively.

Let me compare the effect to Mongrel Man:
http://duelmasters.wikia.com/wiki/Mongrel_Man

"Whenever another creature is destroyed, you may draw a card. "
'Whenever' seems to allow you to get the effect of Slash and Burn as well as of Mongrel Man. Imagine casting Volcana Charger and the use the new mana to pay for Mongrel Man. You could use it retroperspectively BUT you have payed for Mongrel Man (or Slash and Burns) effect AFTER you cast/payed for Volcana Charger. You can only making an effectiv valid and working if you tap mana for it and for that point on, you will receive the effect of Slash and Burn.

Maybe this article of the dm wikia can help you a bit:
http://duelmasters.wikia.com/wiki/Cast

"Casting a spell consists of the following procedure.

   1) Reveal the card from its current zone.
   2) If it has a Modal ability, choose it. (Hyperspatial spell, Double Evolution Burst)
   3) If you have additional or Alternative Cost's, apply them.
   4) If there is any Cost Increase or Decrease, apply it.
   5) Pay the total cost of the card by tapping cards in your mana zone for mana,

After the above, resolve the spell." <-- this is the reason why you don't get slash and burns effect retroperspectively.

I hope i could help you.

Thanks OcaVan, that was very helpful. You solved my question.
avatar
Bronze-Arm Sloth
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 92
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-07-02
Location : Germany

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by Bronze-Arm Sloth on 06.10.17 5:09

SunnySunday wrote:
Jynkkymasiina69 wrote:No

Why

It’s like excusing for stealing, before you stole something ya know?
avatar
OcaVan
Master of Evolution
Master of Evolution

Posts : 88
Feedback Points : 1/1
Join date : 2017-02-02
Location : germany

Re: Slash and Burn ruling

Post by OcaVan on 10.10.17 10:07

I'm glad i could help Smile.

    Current date/time is 17.10.17 16:15