Duel Masters Community Forum - Duel, Discuss, Trade, Share


Grinning Hunger's peculiar wording - SOLVED

Share
avatar
Qbius
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 25
Join date : 2017-01-20
Age : 23
Location : Katowice, Poland

Grinning Hunger's peculiar wording - SOLVED

Post by Qbius on 08.02.17 14:22

I've stumbled upon a weird question which I'm forwarding here.

Player 1 casts Grinning Hunger. Its effect states that the opponent has to put either a creature or a shield into his graveyard. Note that the word "destroy" is nowhere to be seen.
Some people understood it as something that's above a mere "destroy", and that it would bypass Aqua Soldier's effect, for example, since he would technically never be destroyed.

Personally I think that in the case of creatures, being "put into graveyard" and "destroyed" are one and the same. But I would still like to hear the opinion of someone who is well versed in the weird parts of the ruleset.


Last edited by Qbius on 08.02.17 16:25; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Mr-ex777
Master of Destruction
Master of Destruction

Posts : 129
Feedback Points : None
Join date : 2017-02-03

Re: Grinning Hunger's peculiar wording - SOLVED

Post by Mr-ex777 on 08.02.17 14:26

Yes, put into graveyard = destroyed.

Also some cards in OCG Put cards into graveyard. If a card that puts cards to graveyard targets a regular creature, yes, that creature is counted as destroyed.
avatar
Yami_Michael
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 138
Join date : 2017-02-02

Re: Grinning Hunger's peculiar wording - SOLVED

Post by Yami_Michael on 08.02.17 15:59

Yeah, even though it doesn't use the word destroy, the act of "putting a creature into a graveyard" is a "destroy", no matter what. Unlike other games, theres not even a confusing "sacrifice".


_________________

Duel Masters Wiki - A site for all of your Duel Masters Information!
avatar
Qbius
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 25
Join date : 2017-01-20
Age : 23
Location : Katowice, Poland

Re: Grinning Hunger's peculiar wording - SOLVED

Post by Qbius on 08.02.17 16:24

Thanks Yami. Actually someone found a page on the japanese wiki that says exactly that. I guess I'll paste it here.
https://www27.atwiki.jp/duel_masters/pages/89.html
avatar
Yami_Michael
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 138
Join date : 2017-02-02

Re: Grinning Hunger's peculiar wording - SOLVED

Post by Yami_Michael on 08.02.17 16:42

Ah, right. The page linked from http://duelmasters.wikia.com/wiki/Destroy

I'll need to add more stuff from the jpwiki page onto it.


_________________

Duel Masters Wiki - A site for all of your Duel Masters Information!

    Current date/time is 26.07.17 19:33